Article

    Private Groups

    2 min read
    Last updated 2 weeks ago

    Learn how to set your group's privacy to "private" in a few clicks.

    How private Groups work

    Private groups are groups that employees must request to join before they can view the group’s profile and/or receive calendar invites and emails.
    

    In the screenshot below, the 🔒 icon denotes a private group.

    Screenshot 2026-08-27 at 9.45.15 PM.png

    If a group is private, employees have to request to join. Until the request is accepted, employees can’t see leadership, members, or events.

    How to make a Group Private

    Groups can be made private. Though any Group can be made private, this feature is typically used for Groups where people’s identity as a member isn’t known to the company. For example, your LGBTQ+ Pride Group, Disabilities Group, or Veteran’s Groups might be private. If you make a group private, users will have to request to join.

    1. Go to Settings.

      1.png
    2. Choose the Team of the Group you want to make private.

      2.png
    1. Select the Group you want to make private.

      3.png
    2. Check the box next to 'Make a private group'. Click 'Save changes' when done.

      4.png